Any questions?

Any questions?

The Microtronics support team has the answers. Whether general information, technical details, or meeting inquiries: the Microtronics support team offers comprehensive M2M know how and a well-chosen network of partners.
Call us under

+43 2756 77180

or leave your phone number / e-mail address. The Microtronics support team is looking forward to contacting you.*

* Mon-Fri 8am-5pm (except on public holidays in Austria)
Thank you for your message!

FAQ

What do the terms GSM, GRPS, UMTS, HSDPA, LTE, etc. mean?

In the GSM technology glossar the most important terms are explaint. Feal free to follow the links to Wikipedia for detailed information about the specifi data transmission technology!

Mobile Technologie (SMS, VOICE, 2G,3G,4G):


GSM = Global System for Mobile Communications

Mobile Daten Technologie (2G):


2G = the second generation of mobile phone standards (GPRS, EDGE)
GPRS = General Packet Radio Service
EDGE = Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution

Mobile Breitband Technologie (3G, 4G):


3G = the third generation of mobile phone standards (UMTS, HSDPA, CDMA)
UMTS = Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS, HSDPA, HSDPA+, HSUPA)
HSDPA = High Speed Downlink Packet Access (HSDPA, 3.5G, 3G+ oder UMTS-Broadband)
CDMA = Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA, CDMA2000, CDMA2000 EV-DO)

4G = the fourth generation of mobile phone standards (LTE, WiMAX)
LTE = Long Term Evolution (LTE, LTE-Advanced)
WiMAX = Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access

What does the middleware do?

The middleware collects measurement data via wireless measuring devices, stores the data on a central server and visualises it via myDataweb. Additionally the settings and the configurations can be changed with myDataweb and transmitted directly to the device via GPRS.

What is PAWN?

PAWN, formally known as SMALL, is a scripting language similar to C which runs on embedded systems.
Additional detailed information is provided on the website of the developers: www.compuphase.com/pawn

What about the measurement intervals?

There are recording intervals (data is stored) and measuring intervals (data is not stored). The recording interval amounts to max. 1 minute, the measuring interval amounts to max. 1 second. This ensures a quick reaction time. The intervals can be configured individually. Caution! Each measurement consumes energy and affects the lifetime of the accumulator. It is therefore important to choose resource-efficient intervals.

How much measurement data can be stored on accumulator devices?

he field devices are equipped with a ring buffer with up to 440.000 measurements (can vary from device to device). They can cache measurements taken in 1 minute intervals for up to 10 months.

How is the data transmitted?

The data is transmitted via GPRS to the server using a special protocol. With Managed Service Microtronics offers global connectivity at internationally standardized service rates.

What is important for a cost-optimal transmission?

The data volume is calculated by using the measurement and transmission intervals. The intervals are thereby adapted to your requirements. As it works with a very slim protocol, the Middleware basically gets along with a very minimal data volume.

Do I need a SIM card for the international data transmission?

No. The field devices from Microtronics are already equipped with an on-board SIM chip and are therefore globally applicable. Microtronics offers multi roaming GSM data transmission technology, that is to say: wherever you may use a device by Microtronics, the best available GSM network is automatically chosen to guarantee a reliable transmission of your data. Details see Footprint

What is the advantage compared to a radio-solution?

The radio network evaluation for the middleware can be done easily with your own mobile phone. The whole infrastructure (GPRS) already exists worldwide. There are no further costs incurred for complicated antenna technology, radio network establishment and radio network operation.

How long is the lifetime of the accumulator?

The accumulator or battery lifetime can last up to 5 years. It is, however, strongly depending on the measurement and transmission interval and the sensor's power consumption. Various battery sizes for ATEX and non-ATEX devices are offered: The exact lifetimes are calculated according to your special requirements.

Where is the data stored?

The data is at first buffered in the devices and automatically transmitted to your middleware via GSM/GPRS/UMTS/HSDPA/LTE on occasion of the next transmission interval.

How do I get access to my data?

The measurement data and the status of the measurement point are accessible via mobile phone or Internet from any location. The admission data is provided by the middleware provider.

Do I have to run the platform myself?

Not necessarily. On the one hand you can use the demo cloud platform from Microtronics as your infrastructure provider. On the other hand you can also buy your own license for the cloud platform. In this case the software can be installed individually (e.g. at Microtronics, at a hosting provider's data centre or at your own data centre).

How much data can be stored on the middleware database?

The database can store up to 232 data sets per device (this equals to 136 years when recorded every second).

Is the middleware also offered as an OEM solution?

Yes. The middleware was designed as an OEM solution and can be adapted to your corporate identity. A complete branding including devices is available on request. For further details please contact the Microtronics support team.

How often is on-site maintenance of the battery- and accumulator-powered devices necessary?

The necessity of accumulator or battery changes can be indicated via an alarm. No special tool is required for the battery change. The battery block of ATEX-devices can be changed in the ATEX zone without any problems. For devices with sensors you have to stick to the calibration intervals. The complete device can be replaced as the configuration settings are automatically passed on from the server to the new device.

How can the instrument be updated?

The firmware updates are automatically imported from the server. It is not necessary to see the devices on-site or re-programme it or to stop operations.

How long is the life cycle of the field device?

The average life cycle depends on the field of operation and application. When used appropriately the mobile field device will have an average life cycle of approximately 8 years. The batteries, accumulators and sensors are not taken into consideration in this calculation. When used inappropriately the field device's life cycle will be shortened significantly.

How long is the life cycle of a GSM module?

According to MIL-HDBK-217 MTBF the life cycle of a GSM module amounts to 45.1 years when used at 40 degrees operation temperature and is operated 1584 hours /year.

Who has access to my data?

Data access is limited to the provider and the respective customer and is secured by password.

Can hackers get access to my data?

No. The device is only communicating with your provider's server. The communication between device and server is encrypted. Access to the server is secured via a login and password as well as a fire wall.

How does the data encryption work?

The data encryption is subject to a 3-leveled encryption concept which is based on the BSI guideline TR-02102.

Can I backup my measurement data?

The measurement data is stored on hard disks on Raid network and can be integrated into the company's internal data back-up.

Can I also connect measuring points abroad?

Yes. The middleware was designed for the international usage. Languages, time zones and figure formats for the server and the measuring points as well as the accesses for providers and customers can be configured.

For which applications/environments are the instruments suitable?

The instruments are partly ATEX certified and IP66, IP67 and IP68 tested. For devices with an integrated sensor the IP protection rating is to be considered. The devices are exceptionally robust, resistant and surrounded by a protective shell. For further details please have a look at our fact sheets or contact the Microtronics support team.

How is data displayed?

There is a standard setting but also user specific views can be created. Data can be viewed in any way you desire: Graphs with several sets and different types of measurement data, special gradient calculations, calendar, visualisations, tables, lists, maps, current measurement data, downloads. Get a test account and experience the advantages yourself.

How do I receive an alert?

The alerting is configured upon the set-up of the measuring point and can be forwarded to you via SMS, e-mail, XML or FTP. The values for lower deviation, exeedance and hysteresis can be configured.

What is to do when the telephone number that was deposited for alert messages changes?

The middleware does not require complicated configuration of the telephone number on the device. The alert is easily changed online by the customer or the provider at any time.

Can I adjust the settings of M2M devices individually to the needs of my customers?

Yes. Microtronics offers M2M devices (e.g. myDatalogMUC) that are equipped with a PAWN script engine (programming language similar to C). This enables the creation of scripts that solve customer-specific tasks. You are provided with an editor with syntax highlighting for the direct programming of your M2M devices. Additionally you can use the editing tool on the cloud platform.Download  the software for the toolset for free.

Which settings can be changed via the user interface?

myDataweb offers several user levels and levels of access rights (administrator, provider administrator, provider operator, customer administrator, customer operator, default view administrator, default view operator).

How much time is required for the installation and start up of an additional measuring point?

Approximately 15 min. including the online configuration.

How does the administration of customers and measuring points work?

By simply clicking buttons online customers and measuring points can be added, configured, changed or deleted.

How many measuring points can be connected to a system?

The amount of measuring points is not limited.

How time-consuming is an update?

The complete middleware system is designed for full automatic updates. For customers with software service contracts the updates are automatically distributed from the maintenance and license server to the provider server. From there the firmware updates are automatically redistributed to the device.

Is it compulsory to use a server software or another service provided by Microtronics?

Yes. To ensure security it is required to use a server-side software. The software can be purchased as a service via a telecommunications provider or you can buy your own license from Microtronics.

Sie haben Fragen?

Sie haben Fragen?

Das Microtronics Support Team hat die Antworten. Gleich ob allgemeine Informationen, technische Details oder Terminanfragen, das Microtronics Support Team unterstützt Sie mit geballtem M2M Know-how und einem ausgewählten Partnernetzwerk.
Rufen Sie an unter

+43 2756 77180

oder hinterlassen Sie Ihre Telefonnummer / E-Mail Adresse. Das Microtronics Support Team kontaktiert Sie gerne.*

* Mo-Fr 8-17 Uhr (außer an gesetzlichen Feiertagen in Österreich)
Danke für Nachricht!

FAQ

Was bedeuten die Begriffe GSM, GRPS, UMTS, HSDPA, LTE, usw.?

Im GSM-Technologien-Glossar werden die wichtigsten Begriffe erklärt. Für detailierte Informationen zu den einzelnen Übertragungstechnologien, folgenden Sie den Links zu Wikipedia!

Mobile Technologie (SMS, VOICE, 2G,3G,4G):


GSM = Global System for Mobile Communications

Mobile Daten Technologie (2G):


2G = die zweite Generation der Mobilfunkstandards (GPRS, EDGE)
GPRS = General Packet Radio Service
EDGE = Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution

Mobile Breitband Technologie (3G, 4G):


3G = die dritte Generation der Mobilfunkstandards (UMTS, HSDPA, CDMA)
UMTS = Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS, HSDPA, HSDPA+, HSUPA)
HSDPA = High Speed Downlink Packet Access (HSDPA, 3.5G, 3G+ oder UMTS-Broadband)
CDMA = Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA, CDMA2000, CDMA2000 EV-DO)

4G = steht für die vierte Generation der Mobilfunkstandards (LTE, WiMAX)
LTE = Long Term Evolution (LTE, LTE-Advanced)
WiMAX = Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access

Was macht die Middleware?

Die Middleware erfasst Messdaten mit einem drahtlosen Messgerät, legt sie auf einem zentralen Server ab und visualisiert sie mittels myDataweb. Zusätzlich können auch Einstellungen und Konfigurationen mittels myDataweb geändert und über GPRS an das Gerät übertragen werden.

Was ist PAWN?

PAWN vormals SMALL ist eine C-ähnliche Skriptsprache welche auf embedded Systemen läuft.
Zusätzliche detailierte Informationen finden Sie auf der Website der Entwickler: www.compuphase.com/pawn

Wie hoch sind die Messintervalle?

Es wird zwischen Aufzeichnungsintervallen (Daten werden gespeichert) und Messintervallen (Daten werden nicht gespeichert) unterschieden. Der Aufzeichnungsintervall beträgt maximal 1 Minute, der Messintervall max. 1 Sekunde. Dies garantiert eine rasche Reaktionszeit. Die Intervalle sind frei konfigurierbar. Vorsicht! Jede Messung kostet Energie und beeinflusst die Lebensdauer des Akkus. Es ist wichtig, ressourcenschonende Intervalle zu wählen.

Wie viele Messdaten können die Akkugeräte speichern?

Die Feldgeräte haben einen Ringspeicher mit bis zu 440.000 Messwerten (können von Gerät zu Gerät variieren) und können die Messwerte im Minutentakt bis zu 10 Monate lang zwischenspeichern.

Wie werden die Daten übertragen?

Die Daten werden mit einem speziellen Protokoll über GPRS auf den Server übertragen. Microtronics bietet mit seinem Managed Service eine globale Konnektivität zum Einheitstarif an.

Was ist wichtig für eine kostenoptimale Übertragung?

Das Datenvolumen wird über die Mess- und Übertragungsintervalle errechnet. Die Intervalle werden dabei an Ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst. Da sie mit einem sehr schlanken Protokoll arbeitet, kommt die Middleware grundsätzlich mit sehr minimalem Datenvolumen aus.

Wird eine SIM Karte für die internationale Datenübertragung benötigt?

Nein. Die Feldgeräte von Microtronics sind bereits mit einem on-board SIM Chip ausgestattet und international einsetzbar. Microtronics bietet multiroamingfähige GSM-Datenübertragungstechnologie, das heißt: gleich wo ein Gerät von Microtronics verwendet wird, es wird automatisch das stärkste verfügbare GSM-Netz für die zuverlässige Übertragung der Daten herangezogen. Details siehe Footprint

Was ist der Vorteil gegenüber einer Radio-Funklösung?

Die Funknetzevaluierung bei der Middleware kann einfach mit Ihrem eigenen Mobiltelefon vorgenommen werden. Die gesamte Infrastruktur (GPRS) existiert bereits weltweit. Es entstehen Ihnen keine weiteren Kosten für komplizierte Antennentechnik, Funknetzeinrichtung und Funknetzbetrieb.

Wie lange hält der Akku?

Die Akku- oder Batterielaufzeit kann bis zu 5 Jahre anhalten. Sie ist jedoch sehr stark von Messintervall, Übertragungsintervall und Sensorstromverbrauch abhängig. Es werden verschiedene Batteriegrößen für ATEX- und nicht-ATEX-Feldgeräte angeboten. Die genauen Laufzeiten werden speziell für Ihre Anforderung berechnet.

Wo werden die Daten gespeichert?

Die Daten werden zuerst in den Geräten zwischengespeichert und mit dem nächsten Übertragungsintervall automatisch über das GSM/GPRS/UMTS/HSDPA/LTE Netz direkt auf Ihre Middleware übertragen.

Wie komme ich zu meinen Daten?

Die Messdaten und der Messstellenstatus sind ortsunabhängig über Mobiltelefon oder Internet abrufbar. Die Zugangsdaten stellt der Middleware-Betreiber (Provider) zur Verfügung.

Muss die Plattform selbst betrieben werden?

Nein. Sie haben einerseits die Möglichkeit die Demo Cloud Plattform über Microtronics als Infrastrukturanbieter zu nutzen. Andererseits können Sie sich selbst eine Lizenz für die Cloud Plattform kaufen. In diesem Fall kann die Software individuell installiert werden (bspw. bei Microtronics, im Rechenzentrum eines Hostinganbieters oder in Ihrem eigenen Rechenzentrum).

Wie viele Messdaten können in der Middleware-Datenbank gespeichert werden?

Die Datenbank kann pro Gerät 232 Datensätze speichern (das entspricht 136 Jahren bei sekündlicher Aufzeichnung).

Gibt es die Middleware auch als OEM-Lösung?

Ja. Die Middleware ist als OEM-Lösung konzipiert und kann an Ihre Unternehmens-CI angepasst werden. Das komplette Branding inkl. Geräte gibt es auf Anfrage. Für weitere Details kontaktieren Sie das Microtronics Support Team.

In welchen Intervallen muss ein batterie- oder akkubetriebenes Gerät vor Ort gewartet werden?

Die Notwendigkeit eines Akku- oder Batterietausches kann über eine Alarmierung angezeigt werden. Für den Batterietausch ist kein spezielles Werkzeug notwendig. Bei ATEX-Geräten kann der Batterieblock problemlos in der ATEX-Zone getauscht werden. Für Geräte mit Sensoren sind die Kalibrierzeiten einzuhalten. Hier kann das komplette Gerät getauscht werden, da die Konfigurationseinstellungen vom Server automatisch auf das neue Gerät gespielt werden.

Wie kann das Gerät upgedatet werden?

Die Firmware Updates können automatisch über den Server eingespielt werden. Es ist keine Anfahrt, Programmierung oder Betriebsunterbrechung notwendig.

Wie lange ist die Lebensdauer des Feldgerätes?

Die durchschnittliche Lebensdauer ist von der Einsatzumgebung und der Anwendung abhängig. Bei sachgemäßer Verwendung hat das mobile Feldgerät eine ungefähre Lebensdauer von ca. 8 Jahren. Die Batterien, Akkus und Sensoren sind hier nicht berücksichtigt. Bei unsachgemäßer Verwendung verkürzt sich die Lebensdauer maßgeblich.

Wie lange ist die Lebensdauer eines GSM-Moduls?

Die Lebensdauer eines GSM-Moduls nach MIL-HDBK-217 MTBF bei 40 Grad Betriebstemperatur und 1.584 Stunden Betrieb / Jahr liegt bei bis zu 45,1 Jahren.

Wer kann auf meine Daten zugreifen?

Der Datenzugriff ist auf den Betreiber und den jeweiligen Kunden beschränkt und mit einem Kennwort geschützt.

Kann es zu Datendiebstahl durch Hacker kommen?

Nein. Das Gerät kommuniziert verschlüsselt mit Ihrem Betreiberserver. Der Zugang zum Server ist durch einen Benutzernamen, ein Kennwort sowie eine Firewall abgesichert.

Wie funktioniert die Datenverschlüsselung?

Die Datenverschlüsselung baut auf einem 3-stufigen Verschlüsselungskonzept auf, welches auf der Richtlinie TR-02102 des BSI beruht.

Kann ich meine Messdaten sichern?

Die Messdaten werden auf Festplatten im Raid-Verbund abgelegt und können in die unternehmensinterne Datensicherung einbezogen werden.

Kann ich auch Messstellen im Ausland anbinden?

Ja. Die Middleware ist für die globale Nutzung konzipiert. Sprachen, Zeitzonen und Zahlenformate für Server, Messstellen, Betreiberzugänge und Kundenzugänge können individuell konfiguriert werden.

Für welche Anwendungen/Umgebungen sind die Geräte geeignet?

Die Geräte sind teilweise ATEX-zertifiziert und nach den Schutzarten IP66, IP67 und IP68 geprüft. Bei den Geräten mit integriertem Sensor ist die IP-Schutzklasse des Sensors zu beachten. Die Geräte sind besonders robust, resistent und mit einem Schutzpanzer umgeben. Weitere Details entnehmen Sie dem Datenblatt oder kontaktieren Sie das Microtronics Support Team.

In welcher Form werden die Daten dargestellt?

Neben den Standardansichten können auch benutzerspezifische Ansichten erstellt werden. myDataweb lässt bezüglich der Darstellung Ihrer Messdaten keine Wünsche offen: Grafiken mit mehreren Messwerten sind genauso möglich wie spezielle Messkurvenberechnungen, Kalender, Visualisierungen, Tabellen, Listen, Karten, aktuelle Messwerte, Downloads oder einfache Datenwerte über Mobiltelefon. Fordern Sie Ihren Testzugang an und überzeugen Sie sich selbst.

Wie erhalte ich einen Alarm?

Die Alarmierung wird bei der Messstelleneinrichtung konfiguriert und kann mittels SMS, E-Mail, Sprachanruf, XML oder FTP erfolgen. Bei der Alarmierung können die Werte für Unterschreitung, Überschreitung und Hysterese konfiguriert werden.

Welche Änderungen sind notwendig, wenn sich die zu alarmierende Telefonnummer ändert?

Bei der Middleware gibt es keine umständlichen Telefonnummernkonfigurationen am Gerät. Die Alarmierung wird einfach online vom Kunden oder Betreiber selber konfiguriert und kann jederzeit verändert werden.

Können die Einstellungen von M2M Geräten individuell an die Bedürfnisse meiner Kunden angepasst werden?

Ja. Microtronics bietet M2M Geräte (Bsp. myDatalogMUC), die über eine PAWN Script Engine (C-ähnliche Programmiersprache) verfügen. Dadurch ist es möglich Scripts zu erstellen, die kundenspezifische Aufgaben lösen. Zur direkten Programmierung eines M2M Geräts steht Ihnen ein Editor mit Syntaxhighlighting zur Verfügung. Zusätzlich finden Sie auf der Cloud Plattform eine Editierumgebung. Die Software für das Toolset können Sie unter diesemLink  gratis herunter laden.

Welche Einstellungen können über das Userinterface verändert werden?

In myDataweb gibt es mehrere Benutzerebenen und Benutzerrechte (Administrator, Betreiber Administrator, Betreiber Operator, Kunden Administrator, Kunden Operator, Ansicht Administrator, Ansicht Operator).

Wie lange dauert die Installation und Inbetriebnahme einer zusätzlichen Messstelle?

Mit der Onlineeinrichtung ca. 15 Minuten.

Wie funktioniert die Verwaltung von Kunden und Messstellen?

Mit einfachen Buttons können Kunden oder Messstellen angelegt, konfiguriert, geändert bzw. gelöscht werden.

Wie viele Messstellen können in ein System eingebunden werden?

Die Anzahl der Messstellen ist nicht limitiert.

Wie aufwendig ist ein Update?

Bei der Middleware ist das komplette System für vollautomatische Updates konzipiert. Für Kunden mit Softwareservicevertrag werden die Updates vollautomatisch vom Wartungs- und Lizenzserver auf den Betreiberserver verteilt. Von dort aus werden die Firmware Updates vollautomatisch an die Geräte weiter verteilt.

Wird zwingend eine Serversoftware oder ein Dienst von Microtronics benötigt?

Ja. Um das Sicherheitskonzept zu gewährleisten, ist eine Software auf der Serverseite notwendig. Diese kann bei einem Telekom Provider als Service zugekauft werden oder als eigenständige Lizenz bei Microtronics erworben werden.